Many people think that public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their money on expensive hi-tech media, such as softwares, DVDs or videos. Do you agree or disagree?

A library, generally, refers to a place storing and managing books that can be booked or borrowed. In these years, there is a trend toward integrating new technologies, such as DVDs and videos, in libraries. Opponents argue that the emphasis should be placed on providing books, rather than on increasing Modern equipment. Modernisation is, in my opinion, an inevitable tendency, although the enlargement of a library ’s reserve should not be treated lightly. One of the main advantages of using computers or other hi-tech products is improving efficiency. By recording information of books such as titles, authors, dates of publication, or even summaries in a computer system, e- library allows readers to find a book promptly. Likewise, librarians are more able to store, seek out and manage the books. Moreover, with the central network connecting libraries throughout a country or worldwide, a library user can easily locate a book in a library ’s wherever it is. Meanwhile, one should note that e-books have become increasingly popular, increasing the likelihood that e- library will sooner or later take the place of a conventional library ’. Compared with paper books, e-books not only use much less space but also give readers more enjoyment in reading. For example, readers can customise their viewing experience easily by adjusting front, sue and style of characters, accessing the books that have the same subject, and modifying screen contract, and so forth. E-books appeal to young readers or children specifically because of its remarkable ability to demonstrate or explain a subject vividly via pictures, videos or even movies. The importance of updating the facilities is therefore evident, but it should be stressed that the primary responsibility of libraries is to provide as many books as possible to the public. A good library ’ is judged not by the extent to which its facilities are modernised, but by how much information it can supply. The more books the library can make available, the more visitors it can attract. At the International level, nearly every distinguished library gains its fame by providing a vast collection and a delicate selection of books. As suggested above, the library should focus not only on the installation of Modern equipment, but also on purchasing more books. The top priority for a library is to maximise the reserve of books and make the resource available.