The working week should be shorted and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a growing debate on whether the working week should have less number of days so that employees can enjoy a longer weekend. Some people believe that this would result in some great outcomes as the overall mental health of an employee will improve, on the other hand, some argue that this would lead to a decrease in productivity with some detrimental impacts on society. This essay will discuss both perspectives and present my opinion on the matter. To begin with, organisations in the modern world operate on the working model of five days a week where the employees are entitled to two weekends. However, with this viewpoint many people opine that the employees will be able to spend some quality time with their friends and family members and the work-life balance will also be improved. As the employees will have plenty of time to relax and get a break from their everyday busy work schedules. On the other hand, critics argue that a shorter week is a big problem for a few sectors of an economy such as the healthcare and manufacturing industries. Reduction in the week and increasing the weekend will impact the lives of the patients, also the industries will not be able to meet the regular demands of the customer due to the less number of working days, which will badly impact the economy of a nation. In my opinion, I do not agree with the idea of alteration in a week and weekends as it would lead to a negative impact. To conclude, the concept of longer weekends and shorter weeks is quite good up to a certain extent only, however, this idea cannot be implemented in the critical sectors of the economy as this could end up with bad outcomes.