Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In recent years, the proliferation of supermarket has left local stores little room to compete and accordingly make them to close their business. This desperately ending is generally believed to result in the loss of local communities, which fails to gain my support. There is no doubt that the existence of supermarkets will develop local commerce and activities. Firstly, these can help guarantee the substantial output of regional products, which help maintain the frequent production of local business. For instance, the perishable food of farmers ranging from vegetables, fruits to dairy products can be well-preserved. Thus, supermarkets help flourish commercial activities instead of harming them. Secondly, if retailing businesses increase government finance through taxes, local authorities will be able to distribute this monetary gain to organize periodical events such as festival, outdoor games or build community halls for citizens to gather. It is evident that the extension of shopping malls can be beneficial to the regional dwellers. First, the unemployment rate can be reduced due to more employment opportunities. In other words, the erection of these buildings requires both manual labour like constructor or plumber and intellectual workers such as accountant or salesman, therefore, there are more job positions available for the resident. Second, big supermarkets offer many facilities ranging from cinema, game centre to the food court for customers to enjoy while shopping. A recent survey in HCM city has shown that inhabitants here love going to shopping centers an area that is approximately central within some larger region centres because they can either shop for daily necessity or entertain. In conclusion, although the proliferation of supermarkets may threaten the local business existence, I believe this has just negatively affected the local population to a small extent since it brings more benefits to both the local economy and residents.