Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

Practical skills are of the utmost importance to students, yet it is argued by many people that schools and universities seldom teach them and instead focus on theories. I completely agree with this as students are rarely exposed to any practical knowledge throughout their education. Teachers and professors have very little knowledge of the practical skills that should be taught to students. They have spent their whole lives in the academic field teaching facts and have no experience of the required skills in the workplace. Take, for example, professors who teach software engineering subjects to university students. They have never worked in IT companies or had prior experience in designing real-life applications. All they can do is explain theoretical knowledge to students without demonstrating anything. In this case, students will graduate without the practical skills required to work and they might struggle and spend months taking courses after their graduation in order to work in an IT company. Another point is the pressure put on students during their school and university years. They are supposed to attend classes, do their homework and study for exams to obtain high grades. They are evaluated based on their grades and not on their knowledge in their own field. In other words, too much attention is given to collecting grades and too little to the actual knowledge and outcome. Furthermore, universities do not contain suitable training programs that can prepare students for the workplace and enhance their experience, soft skills and other qualities they would need to succeed at work. For instance, there is no focus on training programs that familiarize students with the workplace. To conclude, there is a huge gap between education and workplace requirements. This gap is mainly caused by the lack of practical skills taught to students and the ignorance of its existence by teachers and pedagogical experts.