Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

It is obvious that modern technological inventions, in particular mobile phones with access to the internet and social media have connected more people than ever before. Although it is true that this had brought more people together, I feel that it had in fact driven us apart as people no longer spend physical time together or connect on an emotional level. Humans are virtually closer than before and are part of a global community. For example, social media apps on phones and tablets have allowed people to find and connect with others of similar interests from across the globe and work together to perform a task. Additionally, it allows us to virtually meet and chat with new people, play live games as a group and take part in virtual reality experiences together. Technology has therefore certainly connected more people together. However, how real is this connection? I would argue that despite the fact we are more connected, we are not closer together, Majority of the people spend most of their time on their mobile phones. For instance, when I attended the Christmas dinner at my workplace last year, a huge number of the employees were occupied with their phones and were not prepared to give up to socialise and build new relationships. Another example was when I took a long train journey lasting five hours, I did not speak to the passengers sitting next to me because I had all the required entertainment within my phone. Such an incident would be a rare event in the past, our ancestors often made long-lasting friendships over train journeys. In conclusion, even though technological developments have improved global connections and made it possible for people to find and approach anyone from across the globe, it has not necessarily made us closer together. In fact, we have lost social skills and relationship-building abilities by indulging in technology.