Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend ?

In this modern age, many folks are moving their seniors to the old age homes rather than taking responsibility for them in the home. Although elders will enjoy the companionship environment and professional care of the nursing homes, they will suffer from the high cost and isolation from the relatives. The two advantages of sending the elders in nursing homes are professional attention and suitable environment. Firstly, these homes offer medical attention to the residents. As many of them have serious health problems, the presence of trained staff for 24 hours a day is a benefit that provides the sense of safety for the patients and their families. Secondly, residents of nursing homes build a community that every member can feel a part of. Taking part in social activities has a positive impact on elderly people's mental health. For example, it allows them to feel needed and appreciated. Clearly, living in the nursing home can be very advantageous for seniors. Despite the benefits, costly and sense of isolation are the major drawbacks which are associated with living in a care home. The main problem is that the living facilities can very costly. Many people cannot afford to pay for care, especially if they do not have plenty of retirement savings. Another disadvantage has increased the feelings of isolation and loneliness. In many cases, living in nursing home leads to reducing contact with family and friends. For instance, people often put their elders in an old age home that are situated a long distance from their houses. As a result, they meet each other less frequently. Overall, living in a senior home gas negative aspects too for consideration. To conclude, putting elderly people in care homes is becoming a trend now. While they experience safety and friendly environment during their stay in care homes, they may feel lonely and difficult to pay the expenses of those homes.