Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Waste management is a big concern today, especially when more than 7.5 billion people produce a staggering amount of garbage each day. Population rise, the popularity of packaged goods, lack of recycling efforts and our throwaway habits are responsible for an unmanageable amount of rubbish produced and the jurisdiction can take some effective steps to control it. To begin with, the world population has crossed 7.5 billion and it’s only natural that an increasing population produces more rubbish than ever before. Moreover, these days every product is packaged before it is sold. It is so widespread a trend that common products like bananas and apples are packed individually just to make them look attractive to the consumers. Use of plastic, polythene, and many other nondisposable materials make the situation worse as they are not biodegradable. Increasing use of plastic and polythene and its adverse effects on the environment is a global concern. Besides, recycling is a fancy term for many developing and poor countries where it is thought to be a luxury rather than a necessity. As a consequence, we are producing more waste and threatening our environment. Sadly, our consumerism and throwaway habits are making the situation graver as we like to have all the latest products and discard old ones easily. The government can take some measures to curb the increasingly high waste production, which might be tough to implement but once they are in place, it will bring a promising outcome. First, strict laws regarding the use of plastic and polythene should be implemented. No large company like Coca-Cola and Pepsi should be allowed to sell their products in plastic bottles. This single measure can reduce waste production to a certain extent. Moreover, the government should force every household to separately dispose recyclable wastages from another letter so that recycling process becomes easier. Finally, the authority should run awareness campaigns to educate people about the negative consequences of plastic and its usage. To conclude, an ever-increasing population and their consumerism habit primarily produce a huge amount of debris each day and it has already become a global concern. It is hoped that the authority would take effective measures to control it to reduce environmental degradation.