Nowadays, many people have to work for longer hours, asd they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can the employers do to make their lives easier?

With the increase in working hours at the office, employees have been experiencing higher stress levels than ever before. This essay will first suggest that unrealistic deadlines as the main causes for longer office hours, eventually leading to mental health issues, and further emphasis that by hiring adequate staff and proper delegation of responsibilities, employers can help address this issue. Employees are also pressurized by their bosses to complete projects within unreasonable deadlines, which leads to further stress and anxiety. As a consequence, office goers have to work overtime to meet the target date, leading to dissatisfaction, depression and other mental issues. To exemplify, a recent study conducted in 2017 by The national institute of neurology found that more than 70 percent of people diagnosed with some form of clinical depression, had mentioned over- work and other work related issues as their major cause of stress. Employers can play a crucial role in addressing this issue by regularly checking and ensuring, that hiring is done as per the work size, and any mismatch is addressed at the earliest. In other words, having adequate staff would promote equitable division of duties and assignments along with maintaining reasonable deadlines, leading to employees having elevated levels of satisfaction and higher productivity. To illustrate, one of my friends who regularly complained of work -related stress and was prescribed anti-depressants for the same, showed significant recovery once new hiring was initiated by his company and his workload got reduced. To conclude, people to work for extra hours in offices, eventually feeling high levels of pressure. The major cause for this scenario is less number of employees working and impractical timeline set by the bosses and this can be solved employers hiring sufficcient employees and proper delegaton of tasks