Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems. What are these problems and how could they be reduced?

Violence has become a commonplace in movies today, whether they be action, thriller or even romance, brutality is present in movies across the board. With time, the trend has skewed towards making movies contain ever higher levels of cruelty, with film studios finding ways of creating ever more gruesome and bombastic scenes. This essay will explore the problems that entail this worrying trend and the possible actions that can be taken in order to ameliorate its harmful consequences. Firstly, the increased amount of clash in movies leads to its glorification and justification. Violence is usually portrayed in a necessary or virtuous light and a means to resolve a possible conflict in a situation, moreover, often movies are also guilty of creating phantasmal situations in order to justify the ensuing rampage. These situations, however, could usually be handled in a more peaceful manner or could be entirely avoided in the first place. Secondly, the increased violence leads to greater chances of the movies inspiring copycat events, this problem is compounded by the first problem mentioned in this essay. Movies regulators therefore need to take more stringent actions in regulation to limit the number of impressionable viewers of the movies, especially in a time where the film studios are always pushing the envelope towards what is considered acceptable for a particular demographic. In conclusion, the ever growing amount of violence in movies has possessed a serious societal concern that must be addressed in structure to limit the negative consequences it entails. With better coordination and discussion between film studios, movie regulators and movie goers a medium can be reached that is acceptable to all participants.