Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have different views about how much choice students should have with regard to what they can study at university One school of thought argues that it would be better for students to be forced to study certain key subject areas. On the other hand, the second school of thought believes that they should be able to study the course of their choice. In this essay, I will discuss both sides with my opinion in the conclusion. There are myriad reasons why people believe that universities should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future, but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that university courses like medicine, engineering and information technology provide more job opportunities, career progression, and better salaries. Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that, by forcing people to choose particular university subjects, the government can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps in the country are adequately covered. For example, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new innovations, economic growth and greater future prosperity. In spite of these arguments, some hold the opinion that university students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study because society and the economy will benefit more if students are passionate about what they are learning. Besides, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society and the economy in the future. In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to provide liberty to people to study subjects of their choice, I have the insight to support the fact that science and technology subjects should be focused on by universities for a better lifestyle for people and for the economic growth of the country.