The international community must act immediately to ensure that all countries reduce their consumption of fossil fuels, such as gas and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The role of fossil fuels has become a subject of debate in contemporary society, as individuals demand that all countries lower their use of fossil fuels following the exposure of environmental concerns. Although I understand there might be opposing arguments against this, I concur with this perspective for several reasons. Primarily, reducing fossil fuel consumption is a crucial action addressing climate change, especially since we are at a tipping point before the vital and irreversible damage has been made to the Earth based on current climate model data. Research on global warming presents that the usage of fossil fuels plays a significant role in temperature rising as fossil fuels contribute to the largest share of greenhouse gas emissions. Take automobiles, the biggest consumer of gasoline, for example. Automobiles have become the most common transportation around the world. Consequently, they also generate over 50% of general greenhouse gas emission. The same situation can be found in other transportation methods as well, especially the aviation sector. Furthermore, limitations of oil and gas will create innovation stimulus as the world demands more renewable energy to replace the traditional fossil fuels. In fact, alternative fuel and energy options have drawn attention worldwide and the application of the new alternatives grows rapidly. For instance, the operation of wind energy is commonly seen in the European countries, and solar energy systems are widely equipped in the North America region and other tropical countries. Conversely, developing countries might face challenges while trying to conduct the energy transition, as they normally have enormous energy demand but have less options when sourcing out the replacement of fuels at the same time. Finding an alternative way and implementing them globally requires time and financial support from other developed countries, which makes the fuel limitations even harder. However, with appropriate oversight and regulation, it is still worth the effort to limit the gas emissions and slow down the process of global warming. In conclusion, while there are some valid concerns and challenges regarding fossil fuel reduction, especially from developing nations, I maintain that the benefits of the consumption limitation significantly outweigh the drawbacks when given the climate emergency and innovation incentives.