Teenagers are spending an increasing amount of time on the internet, and this is having a negative effect on their social skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Young people are using more and more the internet on a regular basis. Due the fact that it has some certain benefits, this behaviour also has a bad influence on their social development. Considering the significant change in teenagers’ attitude today, I strongly agree with the statement. The internet has already become a part of our daily life, and our children’s activities cannot be separated from it, either. They are attracted to the internet because they can find any answer in less than a minute, and, more than that, it is easier to communicate with others from behind the screen. Moreover, in online communication, you can hide your feelings and create a fake identity. These are some of the most common issues of teenagers in real life, so the internet is their best ally in disguise. For instance, a shy boy could be the best in online video games and he might seem fearful if the others do not know him in person. Also, the communication between girls and boys is much better in a virtual form, because they avoid eye-contact. Virtual socialization can be the first step in growing self-confidence among teenagers. On the other hand, the lack of direct interaction between young people can lead to serious problems later. If they do not develop their social skills at a young age, they will not be able to communicate properly as adults, in their later life. For example, a man, who is too shy when it comes to speak to a woman, will have great difficulties in asking a female colleague to do a task. Teenagers need to interact directly one with each other, face to face, and the internet can have a negative influence on that. In conclusion, young people cannot be isolated from the internet, since they live in a technological era. However, a balance between virtual and real life must be found. I strongly agree with the statement that spending too much time on the internet has bad effects on teenagers, considering that they do not find the equilibrium between virtual and real too easily.