Children nowadays spend great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the books as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undeniable that television is a major invention and has been facilitating the people in all spheres of their lives since long. Therefore, children these days are more concerned in watching television programs. However, some people contend that television can never take the place of books in the learning process and the excessive devotion towards TV make the children less intelligible. This essay will argue why the role of books is entirely necessary in order to educate the learners despite some few benefits of learning from TV. To begin with, reading books is an absolute imperative of improving reading skills. Because while reading books one could get a deeper understanding of the context and at the same time children could develop an ability to pronounce the word and to extract its clear meaning. Moreover, books are easily available related to each and every subject which could further enhance the knowledge of readers in the area in which they are particularly interested. Indeed, there have been some recorded instances of children obtained a vast knowledge and degrees by following books as a tool of learning. These few instances make it clear the place of books in an educational process as these are required to gain expertise in terms of knowledge and education. Despite this, these days television channels has been telecasting programs related to education in which some scenarios are given to the learners and they have to practice those for the completion of their required learning content. Even though these programs could make the children familiar with the different species of flora and fauna, but the potential risks of children being distracted while studying is in a higher proportion. For example, there is a TV program named as Discovery which describes the different species of animals with the visual representation, but these kind of programs are not suitable for the children of all age-groups and they may attract towards the other channels being telecasted on the TV. Overall, gaining knowledge through the TV is a limited and not worthwhile to make the children educated. To conclude, this essay argued that people who are in favour with the studies through books have an entire understanding that these are the best learning resources. In my opinion, reading books is considered to be a better way of getting an education since long and their existence will never be outdated, but some few TV programs could be helpful for the learners to gain knowledge and experience.