Social media is a good thing for modern society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The advent of social media has created quite a buzz in our civilization. It would not be an overstatement if our current and previous centuries could be divided into two parts, as pre-social media Era and post-social media Era. While a section of the modern society enjoys and appreciates its advantages, the rest of the world has contrasting views on the same. I am an advocate of the former view and I will present my views on both sides of the topic. It is true that anything in excess is bad and this statement stands true for social media. Excessive and meaningless usage of social media can drastically reduce our productivity, social interactions, mental health etc.,. According to the study conducted by Harvard university, people who spend more time on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, snapchat an informal photograph; usually made with a small hand-held camera snapshot snapshots etc.,. Tend to become unhappy and depressed.Several studies have shown that social media has brought about some detrimental effects to their normal social interactions with colleagues, friends and family. It is quite imperative that social media presents us with some disadvantages which could not be ignored. On the other hand, I reckon that Social media if put to meaningful use, presents us with numerous advantages. Most primarily, It has enabled us to connect with friends and family who live in different cities or countries.. According to the survey conducted by Indian express, Non-resident Indians now feel more connected with their friends and family as they are able to communicate with them through video calls, voice calls etc.,. This is indeed a positive change. Secondly, social media have presented an advertising platform for many entrepreneurs who can now reach their prospective customers at no cost. The traditional advertising methods are either expensive or do not target the right customer population. This has certainly given a great boost to budding entrepreneurs and small businesses. According to the survey conducted by the economic times, social media has made it easier for many businesses to find the right customer population.These perks presented by the social media to the modern society could only be dreamt of a century ago. In a nutshell, social media like any other technology if used wisely can create wonders for the modern world. It is undoubtedly a double edged sword and there are both advantages and disadvantages associated. I reckon that though it presents some disadvantages, they certainly do not overweigh the advantages. I strongly believe that in the very near future, with proper awareness and outreach, social media will certainly replace all other means of communication which indeed will be a positive development for the modern society.