The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the libraries expanded their catalogue of materials to cover different requirements from lectors and students, offering now technology and multimedia CDs as well as books. Some people believe that this institution should not spend valuable space and money on these technological stuff. In my opinion, I believe that the library must provide materials as DVDs and computers, because is an incredible way to modernize and innovate this public space. First of all, the library do not just has to offer books on paper, in the modern society, humans are connected to the internet and technological advances during a huge amount of time. Buying these elements, this place will not waste money, by contrast, they will do an amazing inversion. For example, I love going to the central library near my house, and I prefer looking for information using computers instead of books. And a lot of students agree with me because this section is always crowded with people. Secondly, I understand that books have a magic that the technology cannot cover. Elderlies cannot adapt their thoughts to modern ways to learn and new devices, due to they get used to read paper books. Thus, these different materials can coexist in the same place. It means that it is not necessary to take off the books and replace them for computers. For example, my mother enjoys reading books and she cannot understand why others can study watching a screen. To sum up, everybody is different and the library and other public spaces can cover all of our requirements, making a balance between technological stuff and paper books.