Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that buying things on the internet is becoming more and more popular. Getting your books and groceries delivered to your doorsteps, to booking your air ticket within minutes have become very convenient. In this Essay, I will support my views how advantages of purchasing things online overweigh its disadvantages. One of the major drawbacks of online shopping is the authenticity of the products available. In addition to this, at times the quality of the product is not according to the expectations. For example, after several customer complaints online grocery store Grofers has been penalised by the food corporation of India for delivering sub-standard quality grocery items. Sometimes, the incomplete details of the product and services are displayed which leads to dispute. For instance, British Airways is facing trial for providing lofty discount during an online sale, but didn’t inform customers that any baggage will be charged extra, eventually costing customers heavily. The most significant advantage of buying things online is that it opens the sky for customers, providing unlimited options, even from the far end of the globe. In other words, buyer has access to the products that are not even available in his/her geographical location. Recently, over 3 million copies of latest autobiography of Indian cricketer “Playing it my Way” is purchased online by people living in North America. Furthermore, online shopping provides various options, discounts, latest style & trends, comparison tools, saving a lot of time and energy of the buyer. To illustrate this point, on Justdial website customer can find, compare, book, modify the air tickets available from multiple airlines and also order grocery etc. To sum up, while there are few disadvantages to online shopping, such as the authenticity of products, improper online presentation, these must be weighed against the benefits like increased reachability, time saving and access to endless options it offers. Personally, I feel that these benefits outweigh the disadvantages.