Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Although it is believed that throughout education, plenty of time is devoted to examining facts and figures, rather than doing any practical skill. I agree with this notion that schools and universities tend to teach more theory instead of providing any practical expertise. If these institutions focus more on gaining knowledge by doing practical, it could lead to students’ sharp mental ability and learning skills. A compelling reason to provide an interactive experience to students is that it enhances their intellectual growth drastically. In other words, teachers at various academic institutes, such as schools or colleges, must foster students and build their mindset to do more practical work, which would significantly nourish their mental and cognitive skills. By implementing this, students feel confident and do great in their academics as well as later in their job. For example, recent research conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology claimed that students who can solve a particular problem by doing it practically are more successful in their exams than those who are fed a plethora of factual data to their brain. Another point to consider is that having practical skills will raise the learning power of students. That is to say, when people implement their knowledge into practical work, they tend to retain better and understand the concepts clearly. Moreover, this develops them an eminently good problem solver, which stands them out of the crowd. For instance, it has been reported that the students of Delhi University, which completely focuses on practical teaching, have secured numerous placements in Computer Science jobs in 2018. Students argued that all the credit went to the teachers who inspired them to perform practical instead of remembering facts and this assisted in clearly understanding the fundamental concepts. To conclude, schools and universities must motivate their students to dedicate more of their time to implement the theoretical knowledge into practice which could enhance their mental development and cognitive skills.