The speeding up of life in many areas such as travel and communication has negative effects on society at all levels—individual, national and global. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The lives of people such as myself who live in more developed parts of the world are certainly faster than they were. Many people in such situations complain about the negative effects of this. Whilst I can see there are negative effects, I think that they are minor when compared to the positive things the speeding up of life has brought about. Faster communications, particularly those involving satellite communications and/or the Internet, mean that we can get more things done, in our personal lives and in our working lives, than ever before-provided, of course, that there are no technical problems with the technology we are using. This is one of the main reasons for increased trade, both within national borders and across them. Many people point out that increased trade helps to reduce the risk of conflict. Britain, Germany and France have fought many wars with each other in the past, but a war between them now is almost unthinkable. Critics point out that increased trade doesn’t benefit everyone and that globalisation may result in the creation of a global monoculture. Faster transport systems have also helped to develop trade and tourism. Again, there are negative aspects to this. More travel means increased pollution caused by road vehicles, trains, shipping and aircraft. However, the benefits are enormous. Tourism has brought wealth to many individuals and areas and allows individuals to see more of the world. Faster transport means that we can enjoy the products, especially agricultural products, of countries that are far away. In conclusion, the speeding up of life has had some negative effects on the individual, national and international levels, but these are small when compared to positive influences.