Many people join distance‐learning programs (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does. Do you agree or disagree?

Remote learning has become a more and more popular way to for a degree. While some people believe that this way of studying is less beneficial than in college or university, I somewhat disagree with this statement for the reasons I will discuss further. First of all, in order to absorb any knowledge a person needs to dedicate enough time and effort. The location of the learning does not make a huge difference, whether it is done at home or in university. For example, a lecture provides information on a given subject, and in most cases the quality and the quantity of the talk will not vary no matter where this information has been given. In fact, a student will have to spend time processing the information in both cases. Therefore, I think that distance learning has clear advantages against college classes regarding taking in lectures. Another issue of distance learning to be considered is the possible lack of teacher's support. During most classes there are opportunities to clarify any misunderstanding about the topic. At home a student does not have access to the professor. Nevertheless, I believe that under these circumstances a lack of help can have a positive side. With recorded lectures, videos can be replayed at any time to help students with their papers or revision. In conclusion, both methods of study benefit students in different ways. However, I don’t agree that universities are a better way to earn a degree, because the information in a course is the same whether online or live in a lecture theatre.