Nowadays people use social media to keep up with the news. Why do they do this? Is it a possible or negative trend?

Social media is a powerful tool to know about what is going on in the world. It has been observed that individuals utilise social media as a source to be aware of the news. This essay explains the reasons for this phenomena and argues why this is a negative trend. The majority of people use platforms like twitter, Facebook and Instagram to be updated about the current affairs because of convenience and can be accessed effortlessly. The individuals can browse their news feed, which provides them a lot of information that is trending in the world. This way, they do not have to wait for newspapers to find out the news. For instance, Facebook updates users with the data they were looking for irrespective of time zone and place. Moreover, the news is easily accessible through hashtags and search options. On twitter, people can visit trending hashtags that gives them the idea of several aspects through articles. In short, people prefer virtual media to learn newscast as it is convenient and accessible. In contrast, there are few issues accommodated with this approach as they expose personal matters of prominent people and sometimes, creates misconceptions. Certainly, popular people lack privacy and most of their significant information gets revealed through various sources. For example, details about political leaders or celebrities is exposed on social media platforms invading their privacy. Besides that, there is a possibility of misleading information, which causes anxiety in the individuals. The wrong data about infectious diseases leads to citizens panicking unnecessarily could be considered as an illustration. Clearly, it is cynical as it invades seclusion and generates dubious opinions. In conclusion, although people use online networking as it is convenient and accessible, it is also considered as pessimistic as it reveals private matters and spreads wrong information.