Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy.

It is widely believed that numerous people see museums as fun and entertaining places, whereas others insist that they should focus on teaching visitors. While there are benefits of visiting museums to entertain, I would argue that their function is educational. On the one hand, the primary reason why people consider gallery as suitable places for entertaining is that engaging exhibits and interactive displays can get the attention of visitors, particularly younger audiences. A fun and stimulating experience can boost the motivation for learning of youngsters. In addition, a focus on entertainment can make museums more welcoming and accessible for everyone including children and adults. For instance, interactive exhibits and friendly events can attract a wider audience and change the view of visitors who think museums are boring places. On the other hand, people should know the museum’s role is educational from the beginning. Firstly, it is worth considering that museums are to preserve history and save artefacts and specimens for future generations. They offer a connection to bygone eras, allowing us to learn from the past. Secondly, museums provide knowledge of specific subjects. Therefore, museums offer focused learning experiences not easily replaced elsewhere. Moreover, museums can also encourage critical thinking skills. Examining artefacts and exhibits promotes questions, fosters research, and challenges us to form our own skills. This fosters a sense of responsibility in understanding the past and preserving the good things. To draw the conclusion, museums are regarded as entertaining places. However, it seems to me that their purpose is to educate visitors.