Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

History has been a great part of one’s life as it provides people’s knowledge and idea about the past. It is often argued that it is a vital source of evidence in analysing people’s conduct, whilst others claim that it is not essential in today’s life. This essay will discuss both points of view. It is clear that the past is crucial in understanding the action of a person. In addition, people around them could realize the reason behind their deed. For instance, a student misbehaving in a class could be suspected as a rude and disrespectful child. In order to understand the child, the teacher should seek the child’s family background and experiences, as it could help resolve the issue. Thus, the educator should be critical and open in interpreting the data gathered upon the investigation. However, many believe and feel that the past is not necessary, nowadays. The learning that people have today, is the product of the ideas of yesterday. Despite this, history teaches people to learn from their mistakes and this essay disagrees that people cannot acquire knowledge which will be utilized in the recent times. The child, who misbehaves in the classroom, would think that his action is not appropriate, therefore, he could change his way of behaving for his improvement. In conclusion, history serves as the evidence of one’s behaviour at the present time, some still feel that people cannot acquire wisdom from the past. However, as long as people know the ramification of one’s conduct, the historical benefits are clearly positive.