Some people think that it would be better for large companies to move to regional areas outside large urban centres. Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People's opinion differs as to the appropriate location for big enterprises. Consequently, some individuals believe that it is more beneficial for these companies to be relocated to smaller areas. However, I believe that the benefits of this act supersede the drawbacks because of overpopulation and pollution problems. A major disadvantage is unemployment and increased crime rate. People tend to lose their jobs when there is a relocation process and this is a major cause of depression owing to the fact that in most cases considering other factors they would not be able to move as well. More so, the crime rate rises far above usual because people lose their source of livelihood and rely on dubious means for survival. However, the plus side are numerous. To begin with, the rate of overcrowding in major cities, resulting from the presence of industries is overwhelming and it is a leading cause of the disease outbreak likely to endanger people's health, therefore, de-congesting the urban centre would mean controlling the spread. Another crucial upside is reducing pollution in the big areas which can be as a result of the industrial activities carried out in these areas. For example, if there is an oil spillage in a rural community, the danger posed would not be as much as the effect on towns. To conclude, despite varying opinions on the most suitable positioning of big firms, I am of the view that the less developed areas are the most appropriate places to position them because of overcrowding and issues arising from pollution.