University are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages ?

Many university students routinely study in other institutes around the world as part of their degree. Although students will often struggle with cultural and linguistic challenges while abroad, they will also gain significant life experience that will reward them later on in their careers. In my opinion, students are far better off having studied in a different country, despite the challenges that they will inevitably face. The greatest benefit of studying abroad is that students will have life experiences that will improve themselves as people that would have been otherwise impossible if they had only studied in their own countries. Being in another country requires people to push themselves beyond the norm into unusually difficult experiences. For example, when I studied in Indonesia and India as a twenty-year-old, I was continuously pushed put of my comfort zone into psychological states that were unique and novel, and that I had to adapt no matter what. These ultra-challenging experiences are paradoxically the main advantage of studying overseas because they make you grow as a person. The main challenges that students will face while overseas will usually stem from cultural and linguistic differences. These differences can pore massive obstacles for people because they require one to move beyond the familiar and into the unknown which can often be awkward and quite scary. For instance, while studying in Indonesia I had to frequently make a fool of myself in order to communicate with the local people in their language. Oftentimes, I feel embarrassed. To conclude, studying overseas has become incredibly common. While students will no doubt experience more social and language barriers, it is in fact, these barriers that lead to the main advantage of studying abroad which is personal growth. As a contradiction of sorts, it is the hardship that ultimately makes the experience of studying abroad more advantageous then conjunction used in comparatives than disadvantageous.