*ASSIGNMENT* *There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family.* *What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?*

In the modern world, people are more inclined towards the small family, which has both the positive and the negative points. This essay will highlight the adverse effects on social life first, followed by the advantages in the form of better education and lifestyle. One of the major adversaries of small family is a drop in communal relationships. With lesser individuals in a family, there are lesser number of friends and relatives, so, they can rely on limited support and advice in the times of difficulties. It is widely believed that man is a social animal and to live a happy life, he depends on other human beings. As a result of this trend in family size, people are more prone to isolation. Consequently, they are involved in various activities like drugs. Moreover, the mental illnesses like depression are also on the rise. For example, a recent study has related the rising psychiatric diseases to the scarce social interactions. On the other hand, there are benefits related to small families. Firstly, the kids in such families get better investments and care regarding their education. They are admitted in the best schools and their increasing demands are fulfilled by the parents easily, compared to the parents who with more children. Furthermore, the parents can provide them more time and help with their homework. For instance, with small families, the educational standards have improved in Switzerland. Secondly, the life standards have been boosted with the current trends of the small family. Individuals have an overall reduction in their expenditures and their savings are going up. With more amounts in hand, they spend more on shopping, tourism, amenities and vehicles. This aids in lifting the standards of living and broadening the general awareness and the social scope of the persons. For example, the Chinese people spend more on the luxuries than the Pakistanis and that is largely because of a difference in their family sizes. In conclusion, family size has implications on the daily lives and overall quality of life, with small families, providing positives in the form of better education and life amenities but with a negative of decreased cohesion in the society.