You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 word

A majority of people think the idea of gap year where people postpone their enrollment to university is good whereas some oppose this idea. I believe that taking a small break before continuing education is beneficial for the individual. Firstly, choosing to take some time before going to university gives people more time to think about the best major to pursue. Therefore, they are not being rushed about deciding a study program which often ends up with the dissatisfaction of the major. For example, a lot of Indonesian students choose to take a gap year after completing high school in order to get to their dream major and university. As a result, a gap year gives students plenty of time to consider which major to study. On top of that, people get the opportunity to gain valuable experiences before starting college. They can use the time to do self-development activities such as having a job, developing hobbies and passion or even traveling around the world. For instance, it is common for high school graduates in the US to not directy continue their study since most of them prefer to work and gain some money. After that, they get to choose the major that relates to their job so they can be promoted to higher position. As a consequence, a gap year might bring benefits to the individual to climb the career ladder. In conclusion, although some people argue that a gap year may bring drawbacks to many individuals, I am conviced that it offers excellent advantages to them as they are given time to choose a major and they get the chance to explore things before pursuing a university degree.