For many young people today, shopping is their favourite free time activity. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time?

Nowadays, youngsters spend most of their free time in shopping or at least hanging out in shopping centres. This has been happening for many reasons, and in my opinion, both government and parents should encourage them to take part of different activities. One logic, why youngsters go shopping instead of getting involved in other activities is because for some of them their parents did not have time to take them anywhere to do something different, but they always have been with their parents after work to buy grocery and then back home. The second reasoning is that most of the activities, around them, have high fees and their parents cannot afford to subscribe them to them even though they would have a positive effect on both health and social skills of their young children. Another sense is that the government is investing money only on public services, so all parks and sport centres are dirty, frequented by drug dealers, which is the reasoning why parents do not want their children to go there. However, there are many other activities that parents can encourage their children to do, like reading books, taking part to volunteer activities, helping with the house works and helping the neighbourhood. To sum up, the reasons for young people spending their free time only in shopping centre are various and are almost unavoidable. However, good parents could find a way to get their children participating in other kinds of activities and the government invest more money on their green areas which should be clean and renovated.