It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance?

Balancing lifestyle and work has been a challenging topic ever since human started discoveries on the earth. Moreover, it is observed that few great people, who have contributed to the world, had no time to think about this issue. I completely believe that as social beings, we owe to adopt certain protocols to overcome this problem. This is essential to maintain good relationships. By this I mean to say, family bonds are fragile, hence one who is dedicated to work also needs to allocate appropriate time to the family. In India, for example, a recent news reported that a majority of the divorce cases pertain to the couples, who do not share quality time together. Certainly, even though work is worship, individuals must spend time maintaining good relations. Another key reason for this balance is to maintain good health. In other words, human beings are designed to take appropriate rest to overcome the stress caused while they put in efforts. In the past, for instance, there were a lot of great personalities like Albert Einstein and Aryabhatta, who submerged into the research and sacrificed sleep and food. They were undoubtedly legends who contributed to the well being of the human race, but unfortunately they lost their lives at an early age as they developed adverse health conditions. Thus, excess work and negligence of these primary factors may be hazardous. In conclusion, maintaining a good ratio between work and life is vital. Otherwise, this may lead to negative consequences such as ruining the family bonds and the health. It is my hope that in this competitive world, people may attain this balance and seek harmony.