Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, television has become the cheapest and widely available electronic item in the market. Prices vary from low to high; therefore, people with any level of financial status can afford it easily according to their budget. Books are the most traditional way of learning, where those are cheaper than any other mediums. Humankind believes, reading as an essential skill for students, which is essential for their bright future. In this essay, we will discuss facts about both of the arguments. Television has its own pros and cons. There is a wide range of channels and packages getting offered by certain companies. To compete in the market, providers advertise various monthly subscription packages for a lower fee. To attract adolescents and teenagers, there are several channels offered in a wide spread. For instance, there are separate channels for cartoons and sports. School going kids spends most of their evening time in watching these classified programs; furthermore, it results in poor exam results and decreased concentration in studies. On the other hand, books do not have any interactive or interesting features to attract students. A good illustration of this would be, an educational channel which consists of some lectures and practical lessons such as interview with some well established tutor, exam preparation tips and field visits. These particular types of programs to help encourage children to learn from a different dimension. To sum up the whole idea, television is not a culprit in all the cases for the poor performance of students. Parents have to nurture and guide them to choose the relevant programs. Obviously, books cannot be fully replaced; although, there should be space for new mode of education as well.