In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

Whether middle schools should provide students with a variety of subjects to learn or concentrate only on certain fields for their future careers is an important issue nowadays. In my opinion, the latter is far more proper since today's world has become extremely competitive and requires high qualifications to get a job. Take my older brother, Jason, for instance. Jason developed a clear interest and ambition in asset management when he studied at elementary school. Afterwards, he enrolled in a middle school focusing on business and economics, gaining a lot of basic knowledge before entering a prestigious university. Meanwhile, he frequently reached out to the lecturer to ask about what practical skills he could learn on his own and what activities were worth participating in. As a result, Jason knew every detail of his future career, including networking skills, resume formatting, and interviews typical questions. He finally got an asset management internship at Morgan Stanley and received a return offer during his senior year. On the other hand, I studied a wide range of subjects at secondary school, although I had already known that I wanted to become a dentist then. It turned out to be a waste of time for me to learn irrelevant knowledge, like how Newton discovered the gravity law or when industrialization began. What is worse, I had to meet the minimum requirements on exams for graduating, so I spent almost all my weekend time cramming for those subjects, which did no good for my future career as a dentist. In conclusion, focusing on a particular subject earlier can enhance students' competitiveness in the job market, thereby helping students to get their dream job in the future. Therefore, I strongly believe that this policy is more appropriate in today's world.