Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Automobile ownership has dramatically increased over the past 30 years. While, many cities in the world have been suffering from transportation jam. In my opinion, the statement is right. Nowadays, family structure has changed from joint family to nuclear family, though, one automobile is needed for a joint family before. But, need is increased because of splitting of family into nuclear., people buy cars in order to show-off their social status. Also, People believe owning a car is a visible luxury. In the olden era only affluent family could afford to buy cars. But nowadays, all can afford to buy automobiles like cars. These all are behind the travel congestion in metropolitan cities. Moreover, Infrastructure of major cities has not changed in spite of rapid advancements. Like, technology and manufacturing of automobiles has been progressing day by day. But the size of streets remains unchanged. It might be affecting the freight gridlock. The government has to take a lot of measures in order to discourage people from using their cars. Firstly, The government should expand the streets. By widening of the roads, it will decrease the road congestion.Along with, the authority has to control the influx of manpower and introduce some service rules. Not only to control shipment, but higher authority has to provide convenient alternation for transportation. It should offer safer, faster, services to attract masses. So it will induce the use of public transportation rather than own vehicles. In conclusion, even though car ownership has increased over past 30 years, by expanding the streets and providing some accessible public services, the government can tackle the problem.