In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

Recently, an ample amount of governmental investment money has been poured into the amelioration of the Internet supply. This phenomenon has its root from a host of factors, and I would discuss that there are various available ways to allocate this money more effectively. To begin with, it is understandable why enhancing the quality of the Internet provision has become a key national investment portfolio. Firstly, with the availability of a better Internet connection, an extensive avenue of information is opened up for the inhabitants. Most residents would have omnipresent access to both international and local social news, and it has never been easier for those who live in remote areas to reach a wide range of information at a click of a button. Secondly, an improved Internet supply can facilitate the operation process of governmental companies. With stably-functioning online platforms, corporations today would no longer find it difficult to approach their customers, manage their employees or organise video conferences, which boosts the overall productivity. In the long run, the development of such firms makes great contribution to the thriving of the national economy. However, I believe that upgrading the Internet access is not the best way to allocate the government money. The primary reason is that the broadband connection in most countries today is fast enough to satisfy the basic demands of the public. For example, in Vietnam, hardly do individuals have to wait a long time for a web page to load, while online business meetings have even become popular years ago. Therefore, an improvement in the quality of the Internet supply can be deemed not obligatory and urgent. Another justification is that there are several other fields which are being placed under strain and require the capital disbursement to function. To illustrate, a number of state hospitals in the UK have conducted research on a complete cure for cancer, and it seems that this should be the investment priority. In final words, all aforementioned standpoints lead me to a concrete inference that it is reasonable of the authorities to spend money bettering the Internet provision, but there are ways to allocate the capital more appropriately.