40. When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extend to you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is common that many conventional techniques and lifestyles gradually disappeared due to the modern technology. Some people agree that it is useless to keep them alive. I personally agree it under certain condition; however, I opine that it is important to carry on conventional skills for future generations and the essay will discuss my view. To begin with, firstly, customary skills and old fashioned lifestyles may be outdated due to the introduction of modern devices; however, they are extremely valuable for human beings' civilization histories. Moreover, some traditional skills such as cooking, guarding, sewing, and so on are essential for people to master as survival skills. Despite that the advance in agricultural and industrial sectors provides all daily life items to meet inhabitants' demand, learning customary skills and living old fashioned lifestyle will provide a chance for the youth to learn human history. Finally, certain traditional skills are considered as part of religious activities. For example, printing is essential in all economic sectors; however, traditional Chinese writing and painting are still many Chinese's favours and Chinese are fond of practicing them. Many customary skills provide profound economic opportunities to earn money as well. However, some traditional skills should be allowed to disappear in terms of the social selection. Some may also cause negative impact on human societies. For instance, raising poultries in living places in cities may put inhabitants' health at risk to catch infectious diseases, cooking with wood in inner cities may worsen air pollution, and riding horses in the road will disturb the traffic system on the roads. As a result, some conventional skills or old fashioned lifestyles should be allowed to disappear.  In conclusion, the advance of technology provides novel and modern products to guide inhabitants to have a better life. Meanwhile, conventional skills and old fashioned lifestyles may not play the same role in the contemporary era as in the past. Some of them still are precious content in our societies due to the above reasons. Therefore, keeping them alive will  be precious gifts from our descendants in order to have a better understanding of our ancestors.