The obesity rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many developed countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solution.

The obesity has become a major concern in recent years, most youngsters are suffering with this problem, especially in wealthy nations. This essay will explain the causes and possible solutions to overcome this contentious issue. There are two main factors associated with it; however, the most important one is a lack of exercise. The growing popularity of video games has reduced physical activities among young children and they spend most of their time to play computer games. For example, A recent survey by the United States demonstrated that 75% of Australian children preferred video games instead of playing with friends in the park. Moreover, junk food is replacing home- made meal. Nowadays, both parents are working and they do not have enough to cook food at home, so they give a pocket money to their offsprings. In most cases of, America this money is spent by children on processed items instead of buying health dishes. Thus, lack of physical activity and ready-made meal lead to the obesity disease. With regards to solutions, both parents and government can play an important role to solve this problem. Firstly, parent should not only teach the importance of fresh fruits and vegetables, but also provide them a fresh and home- cooked meal. Secondly, government can restrict sales of junk foodstuff and soft drinks at school cafeteria. They should allow to keep only fruits at school canteen instead of junk meal. These two steps can assist to mitigate this issue at a greater extent. In conclusion, increasing obesity disease among youngsters is an extremely serious issue. If it is not taken seriously, it may have detrimental consequences for future generations also, so parents and government authorities can overcome this problem by teaching the benefits of healthy food and restricting sales of unhealthy food at school.