The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is sometimes argued that free and available public transportation services operating in twenty four hours a day is considered as one of the most effective ways to alleviate the increasing route congestion today.While I accept that this approach is good in some ways, I believe there are equally effective measures to solve this problem. I believe it is a good idea for governments to provide public transport free of charge. Firstly, this act might greatly produce a real opportunity for citizens to use free public transportation whenever they need, which will be able to limit the levels of noise and exhaust fumes caused by private vehicles. Therefore, it seems to positively make a meaningful contribution to decreasing many negative impacts causing global warming and the greenhouse effect. Secondly, mass transit seems to be capable of accommodating a huge number of passengers commuting at the same time of day, which might greatly help the government to reduce thousands of people moving on rush hours. For example, the Japanese government has invested an amount of money devoted to improving infrastructure and public service in recent years for the purpose of producing a real chance for citizens to travel freely and experience a strong sense of satisfaction of travelling. However, I would argue that there are equally effective methods of dealing with congested traffic. The first reason is to put more intense concentration on the construction of roads with the aim of making transport network smoother and speedier.By stimulating the development of transport infrastructure like freeway and highway overpasses, the authorities will be able to minimize the decreasing congestion in transportation during rush hour. Another solution is to effectively impose flexible time frames upon students and employees with the intention of inhibiting a large number of those people spilling into the street at the same hour. For example, in Thailand, many schools have a tendency to set a flexible class schedule for students to leave school earlier than white-collar workers, so those schools will directly contribute to contending with a huge number of people moving during peak hour. In conclusion, I believe apart from making public transit available, there are equally effective ways to make sure that the government could deal with traffic congestion effectively