Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people who lost their jobs because of it.

It is true that as internet enormously affects many aspects of our life; many residents have debated that whether online shopping that has taken over the market leads to positive influence or not. This essay will state the influences that online stores have imposed on the environment and the unemployment due to the popularity of online stores. To begin with, extra packages and substantial deliveries have burdened heavily on the environment. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, extra foams and cardboard boxes lead to more waste and garbage substantially in a large number of cities, wasting materials to produce and electricity to dispose. An empirical study by Washington University showed that 60% of citizens agree that online shopping creates 20% more waste than before. Secondly, numerous deliveries result in exhaust fume emissions and more traffic congestion, which render serious greenhouse effect in many cities. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that unnecessary packages and excessive deliveries cost more materials and fossil fuels. Furthermore, gone are the days when many sales in clothing, electrical appliances, and department stores can support their family with their income and commission, whereas these days a lot of them lost their jobs because of the online shopping trend. This phenomenon has made lots of families lower their life quality and may cause juvenile delinquents and crimes from those families, which endanger society’s stability and development. However, in the long run, some unemployed staffs may try to learn new advanced skills, adjusting to the job market, and some of them may start their own online stores, thus increasing productivity and benefiting the economy as a whole. Thus, it is possible to state beyond that related unemployment may lead to crimes in the short run, but possibly encourage the jobless people to learn new skills and create productivity in the long run. All in all, the success of online stores place adverse impacts on both environment and the unemployed staff, yet some of the staff may pick up new skills and create new businesses, thus benefiting the society in the long run.