Why do you think social skills are now being emphasized by companies during the recruitment process? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, a special importance is given to soft skills, because of their increasing importance in the working environment. This term refers to the possession of qualities that contribute to one’s successful dealings with the challenges accompanying the corporate atmosphere. In other words, these are skills that characterize the one’s relationship with other employees at the workplace. Such kind of qualities may include effective communication abilities, passion to learn, to be result-oriented and creative person, offering innovative and practical solutions, as well as to have a good personal appearance. The involvement of self-development skills, could contribute to increase one’s career and personal competitiveness. It is often referred to this ability as emotional intelligence. At present, it is given special importance to one’s knowledge and abilities to deal with problems. For example, in today’s stressful life, it is very important to handle successfully with difficult situations with patience and persistence. This means, not to give up and to be ready to face every challenge, or as Confucius said, “our greatest glory is not in never falling but in rising every time we fall.” It can be said, that every time when one’s behaviour is out of their comfort zone it is a step ahead towards personal growth. Specific competences are necessary in every field of individual progress. When it comes to leadership, for example, it is about being a specific type of person and handling situations in particular ways. However, these competencies and qualities are carefully developed by taking specific, repeated actions. If one wants to be an effective leader, should begin to develop these particular aspects of their life which are defined as weak points. In conclusion, during the recruitment process HR’s are looking for professionals who not only met job requirements, but also possess personal qualities which are necessary to deal with particular stress factors and are in line with the company’s corporate policy, values and mission. High level of emotional intelligence is one of the main factors for hiring success. In my opinion, one should develop the best traits and attributes suitable for their character. This is the way in which they could emphasize their personality.