The increase in tourism has led to the destruction of the environment, thus tourism ought to be banned in certain areas. What is your opinion?

Tourism is a business, which is flourishing in many parts of the world. It has got its own advantages and disadvantages and just like many other human activities, tourism also has its share of environmental pollution. It should be noted that, there are many places, where local people completely depends on tourism and hence, it might not be a good idea to completely ban tourist inflow in those areas. Firstly, Too much of anything is harmful and on top of that, when tourists become ignorant of basic mannerism, it starts to affect the environment. For example, last year, the number of tourists on Himalaya expedition, were much higher than any other previous years. We all know what happens next. They left behind plastics and their other belongings, which they couldn’t carry up or down. This even included non-biodegradable materials. Aforementioned took a toll on the mountains and several mishaps happened. However, completely banning tourism at some places might not be a good idea, because, there are many people, especially in remote areas, who completely depend on tourism, for their daily food and living expenses. We can take an example of Sikkim, in India, where we can see thousands of tourists visiting the place every year. To support them, the number of Homestays, hotels, food and lodging centres and even tourist cars are increasing, and these are driven by local people. Tourism has become their job and if the ban is regulated, economy in such areas will collapse. There are many places, where the number of tourists has been regulated, what they can or can’t carry has been clearly stated and regular checkups are carried out. Hefty fines have been imposed on tourists, who violate rules and hamper the environment. For instance, I went to an island in the Andaman, which is full or corals. To save the place from tourists’ unruliness, Government of Andaman, imposed strict rules not to carry any plastic items and heavy fines was imposed on tourists, who littered. Surprisingly, nobody violated the rules and the place was clean. Finally, in my opinion, instead of completely banning tourism, I feel rules should be imposed on endangered areas. This would not only ensure least environmental damage, but also, steady income for local people. We will be able to maintain both ways by this.