Having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Throughout their lives people have to manage time and money. Some believe that having better finances and less free hours is better than vice versa. Each group has their opinions based on their preferences. Some advocate that money is more important than time. First of all, should people have better incomes they would be able to fulfil their needs more easily and they would probably not feel any economic pressure. For instance, taxes, education, food and many other goods and services require people to spend most of their salary in order to fulfil such needs. Although this implies a significant lifestyle improvement, it is sure to be followed by stressful schedules and probably lack of sleep due to the limited amount of free time available. It is scientifically proven that stress and lack of sleep could cause serious health problems. On the contrary, some people argue that it is better to have more free time and less money. To begin with, having extra hours can improve one’s physical and psychological health. In fact, most of this time could be invested doing exercise, visiting relatives or relaxing after long and tedious days, which will improve one’s confidence and mood. Additionally, people could spend extra hours practising abilities like playing an instrument, writing or learning a new language which is always useful. Nonetheless, some luxuries might have to be replaced. For example, people might choose public transport instead of buying a new car, or cancel online services due to the more pressing needs that must be satisfied. In conclusion, both money and time are essential for a balanced lifestyle. In my opinion, it is important to manage both in order to fulfil basic needs, but without overlooking social interaction, health and moments to spend doing something one likes.