Buying things on the internet such as book, air ticket and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages.

At present, online shopping is increasing exponentially, thus, people buy a variety of items such as household and reading materials as well as flight tickets. Some may argue internet buying can make customers unsatisfied due to its scam activities, however, the easiness of online shopping overshadows such possible negativities. Hence, it is examined in this essay. On one hand, One possible drawback of buying things from websites leads to exposure of ourselves to fraud since more and more thievery is possible today due to technological development. As there are ample available websites, people can be easily misled into scam sites, hence, provide their bank card details to them. For instance, a national bank in Sri Lanka has reported over 10000 cases where credit card holders made complaints to lock their accounts as a consequence of exposing their confidential details to such websites. Customers can read the reviews and feedback before selecting a reliable site to purchase items, therefore, such crimes could be prevented. On the flip hand, the main advantage of purchasing through the Internet is far more convenient in terms of customers. Earlier, people had to travel to physical stores spending their time and money to get things, conversely, online shopping has resolved all the expenses and has saved money as well as time. For example, if I immediately get my visa today and I need to book my tickets for tomorrow's aeroplane, the easiest way is to make an online purchase of the ticket instead of wasting my time to go a physical agency. Having said that, people have saved numerous expenditures because of shopping by websites. In conclusion, shopping via cyberspace might direct customers into dangers such as money thievery, nonetheless, people can avoid such disadvantages by relying on verified and reputed websites for their use. Yet, the merit of easy approachability to purchase a variety of materials outweighs any possible demerits.