Many efforts have been made by countries to address challenges concerning the environment but the situation have not improved. What are the possible reasons for environmental degradation? Are there any solution to combat this problem?

In the current scenario, the environment has become a huge topic of discussion because of of continuous damaging to the environment by human actions. Governments of several nations have been taking some measures to address this problem, yet the situation is same. In this essay, I will discuss the causes of this issue and propose some solutions to overcome it. The first reason behind the environmental degradation is the reckless cutting of forests. The reason is that the roots of trees help in binding of soil, which prevents the soil erosion and increases the soil fertility. Moreover, forests are the habitat of wild animals and in the recent decades, many living species have been extinct or on a verge of extinction as forest area is depleting continuously. Another reason is elevation in levels of atmospheric pollution due to rapid industrialisation and increasing vehicles, especially in cities. For example, air quality index of cities is worse than that of the outskirt areas because of industries and vehicular traffic. Furthermore, poisonous gases coming out of them cause breathing problems in vulnerable individuals. The deteriorating environmental conditions have a huge impact on our lives and there are numerous measures which should be taken to control this. First of all, trees should be planted in excessive number which would improve air quality and provide food and shelter to many living species. Secondly, pollution levels must be reduced by keeping check on the harmful smoke coming from automobiles and factories. The government has issued several guidelines regarding the dangerous pollutants and their levels. These rules should be strictly applied by the government and followed by the public, if we want to see a bigger change in future. In addition to, climate awareness programs should be initiated by the authorities to make people aware about their nature and learn what should be done to save it. In conclusion, I would say that the problem occurred by damaged surroundings is insurmountable, but it could be solved if the government and the citizens join their hands and tackle these issues by considering some of the solutions proposed above.