Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why does this happen? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

It is argued that foreigners like to visit museums and heritage places instead of the native people. The main reason is extremely high admission fees to the historical sites. To solve this problem state should provide subsidizes and abolish the fee. To begin with, the main reason tourists visit a country is to learn about the culture of the host country and museums and historical monuments are the best places for that purpose. Even though the entry fee of these places is huge tourists are often willing to pay to fulfil their curiosity. On the other hand, local inhabitants visit these historical sites less often. After visiting once they avoid going to museums because the admission fee is prohibiting high. They do not want to pay such a huge amount just to see the same artefacts and monuments again. For example, a survey conducted by a Business newspaper article stated that the number of local visitors to the British museum significantly declined after they introduced entrance fee. The possible solution to attract locals to visit museums more often is that admission should be free of charge and it’s only possible if the government provide funds to help museums manage their expenses. With the assistance from state museums and historical places would not have to burden public by placing admission charges. For instance, according to a report by University of London there was a 40% increase in attendance to the British Art museum after entrance fee was removed. In conclusion, the principal cause for local residents do not visit museums and heritage places in their own nation is because of the high entry fee, however, the government can lure them by scrapping admission charges.