GLOBAL ENVIRONMENT ISSUES ARE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF RICH NATIONS AND NOT POORER NATIONS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE?

It has been suggested that first world countries are responsible to tackle world environmental matters and not the third world countries. I totally disagree with this point of view because all nations have major roles in combating the issues plaguing our globe. Certain people seem to believe that it is only the affluent western countries that should bother solving the world's environmental problems. This may be suggested because they possess the financial strength, environmental specialists as well as technological innovations to withstand these issues. As a result proffering solutions would probably appear seamless for them. Moreover, countries that are vast in resources provide relief and assistance in the face of disasters to affected nations. For example, the USA, the world's largest economy, proffered relief materials to Japan during the Tsunami in 2006. This helped Tokyo to recover quickly from the effects of the disaster. Hence, richer States have a gigantic role in curbing universal environmental dilemmas. However, I do not believe that in order to tackle global environmental issues poorer nations do not have a role. In fact, it would appear that these countries have a significant input in preventing and solving this terrific problem. Because they are most affected when stricken by natural disasters, they should perhaps be at the forefront in this fight. For example, India, a third world nation, experienced a high scaled earthquake in the 90s. Despite their limited capability to tackle the consequences of the quake, they rallied amongst themselves to ensure the effect was minimal. Furthermore, poverty stricken countries could maybe render assistance to countries who suffer from environmental concerns. They may tend to offer manpower and psychological support to the sufferers to ensure their swift recovery. To conclude, both richer and poorer nations have intrinsic roles in combating global environmental dilemmas. The fight against environmental problems will be lost unless all countries, including the third world countries combine effort to neutralize the effect of environmental challenges.