People from rural and poor backgrounds find it difficult to get university education. Some people believe that government should make it easier for them to enter universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In order to receive offers to study at the University, students must meet entry requirements and pay tuition fees. These conditions are universal for all, which means that those from underprivileged backgrounds face more difficulties to obtain higher education.I fully agree that the government should introduce some special arrangements to enable more of these students to study in university. Children who live in remote areas, or whose parents cannot pay for private secondary education, typically attend the schools where teachers are not as strong as those in private schools. As a result, those children achieve lower grades in their final school exams and have fewer chances to be offered places at universities. However, these grades reflect not only their merits, but also the weakness of the educational system and this should be taken into consideration. For that reason, universities should have lower entry requirements for such young people to give them an equal chance. Furthermore, in rural areas, average household income is typically significantly lower than it is in cities. This means that people from those areas can often find it hard to pay tuition fees, which are same for everyone. For example, in the UK, the average income in London is almost twice as high as in Wales, yet students from small villages and those from London are all required to pay 9000 pounds per year. Without any doubt, the government and universities should introduce more scholarships and discounts for students from families with low income. To conclude, I agree that the government and universities should gather introduce low entry requirement and more scholarships for rural area's students in order to give them an equal change to acquire a university education.