“Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a fundamental subject whether or not it is used later in life.” Discuss both sides.

Learning mathematics at school has become a topic of controversy between parents. While some parents believe that mathematics is a fundamental subject in education, others believe that it’s irrelevant and useless. In this essay we will demonstrate the point of view of each side. The number parents who believe that students should be exempted from learning mathematics at schools is continuously growing. They think that people don’t use mathematics in their daily life unless they are working in a related field; and, since, those work in a field related to mathematics learn it in depth in their universities, therefore, there is no need to force all students to study this complicated subject. We can take those who work in the translation domain as an example; the nature of their work is extremely far away from mathematics; thus they consider their study of math in their elementary stage of their education to be useless. Therefore, these parents who believe that math should not be a mandatory material have a reasonable point of view. On the other hand, there exist some parents who consider mathematics as an essential subject that should be taught in schools even if most of us do not practically use it. Their opinion is based upon the reason that mathematics is a mental exercise; in other words, they think that it improves the reasoning abilities of the learners. A typical example is those who learn UCMAS, a course that helps you perform all calculations without calculator, get rid of calculators in order to train their minds; hence, improve their calculating and mental abilities. Therefore, these individuals who believe that math is a fundamental study in all schools have a respectful mindset. Whether or not to teach mathematics at school is becoming increasingly debatable. There are two sides having opposite opinions regarding this topic: the first side considers mathematics as an outdated subject that should be cancelled from the schools’ curriculum, while the other one believe in the necessity of learning math despite its usefulness later in life. This essay discussed the various reasons why parents hold these points of view.