In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Generally, in the past, after graduating from high school, students usually have already chosen for them an ideal educational institution. Then, they studied right away. But nowadays, an increasing number of students are concerned about taking a year off and exploring other options. On the one hand, travelling or working helps a person to broaden his or her horizons, to see and explore many new cultures. As a result, they can learn more things which are only in real life. They can find out more about their advantages and decide on their future. It also allows us to appreciate aspects of our own culture that we previously took for granted; because only by working and exploring by ourselves do we understand how significant the lessons our grandparents left for us. But on the other hand, there is the risk that taking time off may cloud the student's mind by presenting him or her with too many options. Young minds are often dreamy and impressionable. Besides, after being off school for a long time, their desire to go back to academy may become less appealing, which could negatively impact their long-term job opportunities. In the end, I feel that the decision depends on what the individual wants to achieve in life. Some people want to explore the challenges or improve their social skills, whereas some others want to learn intensively in the academy. There is no "one size fits all" prescription. I want to explore the outside world of school. However, I also commit to an educational institution education afterward. To summarize, we must be careful not to make this into a black and white issue. Instead, each person should think carefully about which course of action, suits them best determine to follow the way chosen.