Researches show that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertisements of food products should be banned in the same way as the cigarettes advertising is banned in many countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that overeating may be causing various detrimental health issues, like smoking. Therefore, I agree with the statement that advertisements are the most powerful marketing tool for publicizing manufactured goods among customers. Some countries have imposed restrictions on product commercialization because advertisements may be harmful, like smoking. In the following paragraphs, I will provide arguments to support my opinion. To begin with, the manufacturer always depends on advertisements to distribute the produced product among potential customers. This is because they tend to market their goods without considering the pros and cons of commercialization in society, as they always prefer profit. For example, children are motivated by watching colourful advertisements in electronic media, which is very harmful not only to children's health but also to their socio-economic condition. Besides, a large number of adolescents are experiencing health-related problems like obesity. Therefore, guardians are struggling to maintain their lives with limited income. On the other hand, it is often said that smoking is injurious to health. Although the government has been earning millions of dollars relating to taxes applicable to cigarette manufacturers, this cigarette business may be causing the improper well-being of children, especially youth. Furthermore, if a child is inspired to smoke by the advertisement of cigarettes, it is very easy for him to become addicted to other drugs like heroin and alcohol. It is true that advertisements not only maximise company profit but are also one of the main reasons for leading the young generation into the dark future. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that advertisements for food products should be banned gradually, as they have a negative impact on future generations as well as socio-economic development.