More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

As modern technology grows and advances by leaps and bounds, so does its effect on our life and society. The impact of technological improvements in the world and in communication, in particular, has been extensive and largely positive, helping people and businesses; keep in touch with each other across the globe and provide services to customers around the clock, respectively. On the contrary, communication using technology can eliminate face-to-face interactions, affecting the social behaviour of people among their peers causing constant distraction. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communication instead of face-to-face conversations. With the advancement in the field of technology, organizations are capable of using communication as a chance to create new opportunities and grow their business exponentially. Moreover, individuals can benefit from the use of cell phones and social media to keep in touch with each other. For instance, companies such as Amazon and Flipkart are providing 24x7 services for their customers to solve their queries. Similarly, internet technology is helping people all over the world to stay in constant touch with their families and loved ones, such as international students and foreign employees, thereby eliminating the barrier of distance. However, there are certain disadvantages of using technology as a means of communication that must be discussed. Over the last few years, technology has played a major role in the daily life of millennials, making it extremely difficult for the employees and individuals to concentrate on the task at hand without distractions. Furthermore, the constant use of smart-phones, irrespective of the situations, can affect the social behaviour of an individual. For example, sitting next to someone who is engaged in a heated email conversation can cause you to feel lonely and left out. Additionally, checking your email notifications in the middle of a family gathering can be considered rude. In light of the likelihood of distraction and poor social behaviour, we can see why some would argue against the use of technology as a means of communication. In conclusion, certainly, there are advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communication in comparison to face-to-face conversation; however, people can maintain a balance and limit the use of gadgets in their day to day life and embrace the benefits of technology.