Younger people now have to compete for jobs with older people. What problems do you think this will cause? How can these problems be resolved?

Unemployment is a threat as far as low-middle income countries are concerned. One of the reasons for this is the lack of position market and a recession that has struck the middle class working population. As a result, the youngsters are competing with the older generation in terms of employment and skills. It is worthwhile to deal deeper into this issue before coming up with some viable solutions. Last few decades showed a decline in the share markets and large companies laying off their staffs, especially in the middle management levels to total with their loss. This is evident from the article published in Deccan Herald last Sunday, stating that nearly 1 lakh employees were laid off from multinational companies like Infosys and IBM. This left many senior managers above 40 years of age, as job seekers in the employment market. This has a detrimental effect on the young people seeking a career, since they lack the skills or experience compared to the older unemployeds. Apart from the stress of rising competition, this can also affect the confidence level of the young appliers to approach companies. Additionally, joblessness seen among the younger lot is also causing pressure among the students who are pursuing their studies in the similar fields. In a survey conducted by India Today last Thursday, it was concluded that 90 percentage of the students are worried about their future job prospects. Though there are many solutions to this problem, few measures such as opening more task opportunities and giving equal chance to the deserving candidates is to be brought with immediate effect. Employers, be it Government or Private, should put in a lot of thought process, while creating a post. Factors such as age, experience and gender should be considered in a realistic manner while creating vacant positions. Though several people are involved in making a decision about a vacancy, each member should take responsibility in bringing fairness in selecting the right person for the work. In conclusion, when two generations are competing for a similar position, it is highly likely that the inexperienced among the lot is rejected. This not only create a series of psychological issues, but also affects the confidence level of the future people. Bringing more employment opportunities and ensuring fairness while recruiting is the best possible solution for the same.