Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Government is the main body that is responsible for the overall development of the nation by investing in different infrastructures like health, transportation, etc. Among them, transportation is the major infrastructure for the development. Railways and roadways are two major modes of land transportation, but there is a debate whether to invest more in railways or roadways among people. Investment in both railways and roadways are essential and are being discussed further. Firstly, railways are one of the most popular means of transportations and its popularity. Thereafter, the government must invest more in railways which are much faster than roadways. Also, railways can be more environmentally friendly and sustainable if it is studied properly before construction. Electric trains can eliminate the environmental pollution which is being caused by petroleum products. Usually, trains are massive and large that have high load capacity and can carry a number of people at a time. Therefore, the work efficiency of railways is much more than roadways. On the other side, roadways are much cheaper to build than railways. Roadways can be constructed easily with less manpower and less equipments. Similarly, roadways are convenient for all people of different age groups due to its easy availability and more options like private vehicles, public buses, trams etc. Roadways are the most popular means of transport in developing countries because the railways are much expensive in its early construction and even in terms of utilities, roadways are more convenient and affordable. After analysing varieties of points, I reckon that both railways and roadways have their own significance in the overall development of the nation. Railways are more effective in more developed countries, while roadways are best suited for developing countries. Hence, the government must invest in both railways and roadways according to the need of the people, economy and geographical topographies.